Structure and organisation - Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

The Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences is a diverse and complex research and teaching organization operating at campuses in Australia, Malaysia and South Africa and in collaboration with other partners around the world. With a prominent profile in the top tier of universities for excellence in the life sciences, Monash is ranked in the top 50 universities worldwide for health care by both the Times Higher Education World University Rankings and authoritative QS rankings.

We offer the broadest suite of programs across health and medical disciplines of any Australian university; we provide education and training for doctors, nurses, paramedics as well as other health care professionals and scientists in fields as diverse as radiography, biomedical science, social work and midwifery.

The faculty comprises ten schools (each containing multiple departments) together with nearly 30 teaching and clinical centres, and has over 15,000 students and staff, including honorary staff. Clinical excellence and translation research are fundamental to how the faculty operates. Our major health care partners include Monash Health, Alfred Health, Eastern Health, Peninsula Health, Bendigo Health, Cabrini Health and Epworth Heathcare. The Australian Regenerative Medicine Institute (ARMI) and MIMR-PHI Institute of Medical Research (located at Monash Medical Centre) are integral parts of the faculty's significant research commitment, and we combine our research strengths with institutes such as the Baker IDI Medical Research Institute and the Burnet Institute, and we are a member of both the Alfred Medical Research and Education Precinct (AMREP) and the Monash Health Translation Precinct (MHTP).